Thursday, April 28, 2011

There's a what on my where?

There are a few things in life that you never want to hear someone say to you. For example:

"That wasn't chicken."
"This won't hurt a bit."
"Don't worry, this plane can fly with one engine."
"I'm on a work release program."
"Daddy, I'm getting married."

You know, the usual uncomfortable statements. Unfortunately we have discovered a new phrase that is not very comforting to hear, especially at 4:00 a.m. Well, you see, Jerry has been having lots of bad dreams lately, and been coming in our room a lot. Well just the other night, he crawled up in bed with us, on JT's side, and was laying there to go to sleep. Just as we were all dozing off back to sleep, we hear Jerry say something semi-disturbing.

"Uh, Daddy, there's something flapping on your shoulder!"

Well if that doesn't get your attention, your attention getter is broken!

I honestly can't even write that sentence without giggling. It was the strangest thing for him to say at 4 am, even his choice of words is hilarious...flapping...what in the world could be flapping on a shoulder? Crawling, sitting, maybe, but flapping, that is weird. JT was none the less startled by this accusation, took a quick look, and when I say quick look, I literally mean a quick look, like I said, that sort of statement grabs a person's attention. As one could guess, there was nothing flapping on his shoulder.

So, the next morning, I asked Jerry what he saw on daddy's shoulder and he said it was something that pinched, kind of like a butterfly. I just smiled and said okay, but for the rest of the day I kept telling him he had something flapping on his shoulder. :-)

And just for fun, right before bed, JT was in the bathroom brushing his teeth and I said, "JT THERE'S SOMETHING FLAPPING ON YOUR SHOULDER!" Funny thing was he wasn't less alarmed than the first time he heard it. :-)

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

okay, okay, okay

Well I have been motivated my wonderful sister-in-law to attempt to keep my blog updated. So I might as well give everyone an update of what is going on.


Gia is in soccer, the season is almost over. She seems significantly less interested this year, may not continue it next year. Doing well in school academically. She is on a 1st grade reading level and only getting better.


Jerry is Jerry. I seriously do not think that boy can get any more "boy." He epitomizes boy and it often frightens me. He is jumping off furniture, scaling walls, etc. It is mind blowing how fearless he is. He recently had to do his 4 year check up (which they discovered a double ear infection, yuck!) He had to get 5 shots. He didn't even cry. The nurse said she has NEVER seen a child take 5 shots like that. However, if he gets another ear infection soon they will send him to an ENT, b/c this is starting to be a trend.


Sophia has not had any ear infections since she turned 2. Praise the Lord! I know it has only been a month but that is good for her b/c she was getting them 1-2 times a month (with tubes in place). She recently had to go in for her 2 year check up. She is 22 pounds...need-less-to-say, we have to go back in for a weight check in 3-6 months. She is very tiny but proportionate which is a good thing.


JT and I are doing well. We are taking over the children's summer program. I am very excited about it and hope it all transitions smoothly. Other than that, we are doing good and I will seriously try and keep up with this more b/c life throws us enough "stories" that its hard not share them!